Skip to content

Designer Spotlight: Juliette Hogan

September 23, 2009

New Zealand designer Juliette Hogan is one of my personal favourites this year,  she showed her new collection, “some other time…” at the Air New Zealand  Fashion Week yesterday. Her website describes the new collection: 

“juliette hogan presents a fresh offering for summer 09 with her collection “some other time…” 

continuing to design with her well-mannered muse in mind, juliette further explores the addition of a tougher edge to her designs playing with a balance of hard and soft. exposed zips on the denim dress and the otherwise coquettish floral printed may dress result in a perfect harmony between sweet and sass.

the now signature ‘juliette hogan sunray pleat’ story receives an update in the form of a sheen chiffon in oyster, coral, charcoal & black.  the floor skirt offers a bit of drama against the flirty and fun trapeze dress.

amore lively palette than previous seasons with the inclusion of the cherry red check, coral chiffon, and pink and green brights in the busy floral print.  however, we still see the signature muted neutrals in silk habutai, cotton knit & antique lace. 

silhouettes are brought together from a variety of eras with vintage detailing on the cute ruffle front pixie frock, the 50s dress is true to it’s name sake, while the mini perfect Skirt is reminiscent of subtle 80s styling.

aconfident and concise collection from juliette hogan as she once again serves up a must have selection of timeless, classic pieces set apart by a je ne sais quoi that makes you want to touch, feel and ultimately wear.”

I like this collection, it seems to be a natural development from Hogan’s winter 09 collection, “mind your manners…”, the same conservative styling, luxe fabrics and muted pallet, but with a bit more warmth to bring the look into the summer.

Juliette Hogan

 Click on the image to visit juliettehogan.com.

1 and 2 are my favourite two looks from the winter collection, I am totally in love with the soft pallette, the adorable shoes in image 1 and the ruffled shirt dress in image 2. The deep grey-purple dress in image 3. is from the new collection, I found the lace slip peeking out from the bottom of the satin dress so endearing and the softened outline is a departure from what I normally like, but Hogan has managed to keep it classy and not looking like gym outfits. Image 4. is the perfect throw-it-on-and-go dress for summer, I can picture myself wearing it with almost anything, from gladiators and a large tan handbag, to YSL’s tribute platforms and a studded cross body bag. Image 5. is my favourite look from the “some other time…” collection, I think it is perfect for the transitional period into summer, where in New Zealand it tends to rain a lot, with the odd bursts of very bright sunshine. So a cute colourful dress with a light coat works perfectly. The soft peach shade of the dress also works with my favourite make up look of the summer: neutral eyes, cheeks in a peppy peach shade and a soft chapstick sheen on lips. The silhouette of this look is the perfect combination of classic, flattering and fun, with a hint of Jackie O in the A-line cut of the dress. All in all I can’t wait to get my hands on the new Juliette Hogan range.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 12:57 pm

    Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

  2. October 1, 2009 9:41 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  3. October 7, 2009 10:19 am

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

