Skip to content

Crafty

October 12, 2009

I find one of the most rewarding things in life is to make something with your own two hands that you can actually use. I have a number of such hobbies, sewing, baking, knitting and crocheting.

crafty

1. I found this picture online quite by accident and fell in love with the cut. So I sketched how I wanted it to look, took measurements, drew up a pattern and made it. It’s just as good as I imagined.

2. This is the sewing machine I use. My Mother was given it for her 16th birthday back in 1980 and passed it on to me. Still going strong at almost 30 and is now considered an antique.

3. This is a hat I crocheted last winter and forgot about. I found it last week on a particularly cold day and it provided warmth and compliments.

4. This is a delicious looking mini-muffin. Not one of mine, the ones I make don’t usually last long enough to be photographed with a hungry boyfriend living with me. Hopefully someone will give me a piping bag + nozzles for Christmas so my icing can be this adorable.

 

Here is my recipe for the perfect mini-muffins (cupcakes) as discovered by trial and error over many years.

 

Best Cupcake Recipe

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons  (60 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • Just under 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup whole milk

(To make chocolate flavoured reduce flour to 2/3 of a cup, and add 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder.)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees. Prepare a muffin tray with paper liners.
  2. Warm the milk with the butter so that the butter melts and set aside to cool down if too hot.
  3. Whisk the eggs, sugar and vanilla until thick and creamy.
  4. Add the milk and butter mixture.
  5. Add the dry ingredients and mix until just smooth
  6. Divide batter among prepared muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full. Bake for about 13 minutes or until they spring back when prodded.
One Comment leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 4:00 am

    A very nice Topic. Thanks alot hope you go for the detail next time!

Leave a Reply

